Red Deer, AB (Feb. 12, 2019) – More than 75 people gathered to honour Dallas Vert and Natasha Pospisil owners of Conquest Agro Services Ltd located at Kirriemuir, AB as Alberta/NWT’s Outstanding Young Farmers for 2019. The winners were announced at the Alberta regional event held at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Red Deer, AB on February 8th. 

Dallas and Natasha own and operate three businesses all based in agriculture. The three businesses are: 11,000-acre grain farm (Conquest Agro. Services Ltd.), an independent retail outlet for fertilizer, seed, and chemical (Dryland Agro. Services Ltd.), and a general store with automotive parts, agricultural parts and a post office (Kirriemuir Ag & Oil 2009 Ltd). 

Conquest Agro strives to improve the sustainability of the farming operation by implementing progressive management practices to increase the viability of the soils within the farm, in hopes of leaving the land in a high producing state for future generations. This progress is achieved by the knowledge gained from their other businesses and working with various companies. The business works in many markets that branch off the farm but are strongly rooted in agriculture. Dallas and Natasha believe in the success of rural life and community and pride themselves on hard work and their vision for diversification within agriculture. 

The Alberta Region of Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers Program were pleased to honour four couples at their 2019 Regional Event. The couples recognized were: 

Andrew & Denise Mans – Mans Organics Coaldale AB 

Jordan & Tynnell Schmaus, JTS Farms, Bruce, AB 

Jared & Julia Serben, Seben Farms, Smoky Lake AB 

Dallas Vert & Natasha Pospisil, Conquest Agro Services Ltd, Kirriemuir, AB 

The Alberta region was pleased to have the following dignitaries attend: MP Parliment- Earl Dreeshen, MLA Innisfail/Sylvan Lake – Devin Dreeshen, and MLA Barrhead/ Westlock (and previous AB OYF winner from 2001) Glen VanDijken, 

Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmer Program past president, Luanne Lynn had this comment about the event, “You can’t help but feel the energy and passion that Dallas and Natasha have for their farm and the whole of agriculture. They are always seeking out new opportunities and are not afraid of investing hard work to see where these opportunities will take them. The four outstanding finalists in the AB/NWT regional event exhibited a passion for their farm businesses, communities, and agriculture. They should all be proud of their accomplishments to date as it has not always been an easy road to get there.” 

Celebrating 39 years, Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers’ program is an annual competition to recognize farmers that exemplify excellence in their profession and promote the tremendous 

contribution of agriculture. Open to participants 18 to 39 years of age, making the majority of income from on-farm sources, participants are selected from seven regions across Canada, with two national winners chosen each year. The program is sponsored nationally by CIBC, John Deere, Bayer, LaCoop fèdèrèe and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and supported nationally by BDO and Farm Management Canada. 

Canada’s Outstanding Young Farmers for 2019 will be chosen at the National Event in Fredericton, NB from December 3-8, 2019.